There’s a difference between “kosher” and “kosher for Passover.” For Passover, there’s no chametz, or leavened food, like wheat, spelt, barley and rye.
Growing up, the days before Passover were filled with a special kind of chaos as we prepared for the Jewish holiday. There were dishes shuffled from upstairs to downstairs, stock pots of water steaming away on the stove and whole cabinets of food that wasn’t kosher for Passover closed off with masking tape. It was all part of the big, yearly task of making our home and our kitchen kosher for Passover, and there was no shortage of tasks!
But what does that mean exactly, “kosher for Passover?” It can be confusing, so let me walk you through some of the basics.
What Is Kosher?
Kosher food is food that adheres to a long and detailed list of dietary rules according to Jewish law. These laws cover specific foods Jews can eat, the kitchens where the food is cooked and stored, and how the food is served and eaten. One of the most well-known rules of keeping kosher is to not mix dairy and meat, but that’s only one small part.
There are categories of animals that are off-limits altogether, like shellfish or animals with split hooves like pigs. There are types of meat, like beef, which can be kosher if they’re raised, slaughtered and served following kosher rules.
In a kosher kitchen, utensils and cookware are kept separate for meat and dairy products. If you’re very religious, you would even have different ovens to cook meat and dairy. Growing up, we had separate cloth napkins for meat and for dairy, and little labels around the kitchen reminding us which utensils went where. But all of it, napkins included, were put aside for Passover, when a whole different level of kosher entered the kitchen.
Kosher for Passover, Defined
Keeping kosher for Passover is not the same as generally keeping kosher. Passover is a springtime holiday, celebrated around the same time as Easter, commemorating the Jewish exodus from slavery in Egypt. For eight days, we do not eat any chametz—leavened food—including wheat, spelt, barley, oats and rye. Instead we eat matzo, or unleavened bread, which reminds us of our years spent wandering in the desert, unable to stop even to let the bread rise.
In Passover recipes, like matzo ball soup and gefilte fish, matzo meal is often used a flour replacement There’s also a lot of ground almond flour, which is used to make cakes and will always remind me of the delicious almond cakes we would end our Passover seder with.
There are some rules that differ depending on the Passover traditions of wherever you or your ancestors are from. One of the most debated rules of Passover regards kitniyot, which are legumes, including beans, lentils and peas, along with some seeds, rice and corn. (The restrictions on corn are why there’s a special Coca-Cola formula that’s kosher for Passover.) Traditionally, kitniyot are not eaten by Ashkenazi Jews during Passover, but they are eaten by Sephardic Jews. Then there is quinoa, which somehow snuck through and it is considered by most to be kosher for Passover.
To keep properly kosher for Passover, your kitchen needs to be kashered (or, made kosher) as well. There are many different ways of doing this depending on your level of observancy. All traces of chametz are removed from the house, so it’s a great time to deep clean the fridge. All pots, pans and dishware must be switched out for kosher-for-Passover versions, or cleaned in a particular way to be considered kosher for Passover. There is even a tradition to use a feather to symbolically (but also literally!) wipe away any leftover crumbs of chametz before Passover begins.
Kosher for Passover Symbols
Packaged food that is kosher for Passover has symbols on it to signify the type of kosher certification it has. Depending on your level of observance, you would only eat foods that are deemed kosher according to your standards and the standards of your community’s Rabbinical council. Often, kosher for Passover is indicated by a “P” next to the usual kosher symbol.
One kosher for Passover symbol is a simple “KP,” meaning kosher for Passover. This is acceptable to many people, but more religious Jews will look for other more intricate symbols.
There may be a lot of rules to Passover, but have no fear. It is still a fun and delicious time, whether you’re keeping kosher or not!